Genocidio Armenio


Cultura y sociedad

jueves, 4 de octubre de 2018

Tucuman Province of Argentina Passed a Resolution of Recognition of the Armenian Genocide

The Legislature of the Province of Tucuman, Argentina, passed a resolution of recognition of the Armenian Genocide by approving today a project of adhesion to the National Law 26,199 that declares April 24 of every year as the "Day of Action for Tolerance and Respect between Peoples" in commemoration of the Armenian Genocide.

"In Argentina, the agenda for the defense of human rights has a point dedicated to the Armenian Genocide, which is why the adhesion of the provinces is not only an act of accompaniment to the community, but the ratification of the commitment to this chapter of the human tragedies of the early twentieth century, which is closely linked to those that occurred later. This significant step of Tucuman, a province with little community presence, goes in that direction," said Nicolas Sabuncuyan, director of the Armenian National Committee of Argentina.

The project was presented by Legislators Osvaldo Morelli, Irene Medina, Sandra Mendoza and Sara Assan. The Legislator Silvia Rojkes presented a similar project previously. With this project, Tucuman will become the 21st province to recognize the Armenian Genocide when the promulgation of the legislation by Governor Juan Luis Manzur is completed.

On June 28, the University of San Pablo de Tucuman hosted the cycle of lectures entitled "Denialism as a form of discrimination" organized by the National Institute Against Discrimination, Xenophobia and Racism (INADI), the Delegation of Argentine Jewish Associations (DAIA) and the Armenian National Committee of Argentina, with dissertations to charge of the director of Policies against Discrimination of INADI, Ariel Isaak, Julian Schvindlerman for DAIA-Tucuman and Nicolas Sabuncuyan. This activity helped to reinstate the theme so that provincial legislators could advance with the formal recognition.

On January 11, 2007, the Argentine State promulgated National Law 26,199, which establishes that on April 24 of each year it will be remembered as the "Day of Action for Tolerance and Respect between Peoples" in memory of the Armenian Genocide, with an article that invites the provinces to adhere to it. The provinces that already joined the National Law are Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Córdoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Jujuy, La Pampa, La Rioja, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen, Rio Negro , Salta, San Luis, San Juan, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Tucuman and Tierra del Fuego, along with the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires. The provinces of Santiago del Estero and Formosa still did not adhere to national recognition.

Designed By Blogger Templates